Forever means FOREVER

14/01/2016 14:22
On many occasions last year, the pain and fatigue of fibromyalgia were too intense to allow my evening walk. A sorry state it was. I’m happy to tell you though, that as 2016 dawned, I’ve been walking more (praise God) and have been loving it, as I contrive to bring a few contours back into my shapeless waist and to the bulging rest-of-me. One evening last week, when I approached our neighbourhood oval, the skies were singing praises to their Creator. I stopped at once to take a few pictures. Click. Click. Click went my camera. Wow Wow Wow went my wide-open-eyes. O Lord You are amazing said my heart.
 
A few seconds later, I trotted out into the Oval and a cheery sight greeted me. Couples sauntered by, hand in hand. Children raced by on scooters. A few folks walked their dogs. Families were out for exercise. A young man flew a kite which flapped merrily in the breeze. And all the while, the heavens proclaimed God’s handiwork in flamboyant splendour. What a flaming sunset that was—streaks of reds, yellows and bright orange splashed boldly across the sky with an expanse of grey above that contrasted beautifully against the brighter colours. On the other side of the oval, a large pink cloud resembling a giant dog leapt across an expanse of azure sky.
I've always loved watching sunsets. They usually last a short time, maybe ten minutes at most. On this particular evening, though, each time I walked around the Oval, I’d stop to take more pictures because the sunset continued to blaze. For ever it seemed. After five rounds (and 45 minutes of walking), the sky invited me—even challenged me to do one more round. “We can keep up, you know” it seemed to declare brashly. I believed its promise, but was too tired to check it out. And so I went home. Looking back at its beauty. Smiling.
 
You and I know that a lot of things in life don’t last. Gadgets break. Friendships dwindle. Relationships fizzle out. People die. It’s a sad old world sometimes. But that evening sky reminded me that some things do go on forever. Like God’s love. Like God Himself.
 
It will be 17 years tomorrow, (19th January 2016), since we arrived on the shores of this beautiful Land Down Under. We are very grateful to its friendly people for welcoming us, for blessing us with a home away from home. The years have disappeared in a flash. My son was 8 when we arrived; he’s now a mature 25. During those years we have seen lots of change. In the world. In the community we live in. In ourselves. After all, change is perhaps the only unchanging factor in our lives ... or so it seems.
But wait. As we step into a New Year, let us remember what the Word tells us: ‘Jesus is the same, yesterday, and today and forever,” (Hebrews 13:8) In a world where few things remain constant, it thrills my heart and refreshes me; a spring of sparkling water that will never run dry. So take courage my friend. Every new beginning spells fresh hope.  And even better, we know the One who will never change. So walk boldly forward, remembering with joy, that though life is fleeting and good times disappear, the One who flung the stars into space, the One who created you, knows you by name. He will never change. His love lasts forever. And yes, forever means FOREVER!
 
Psalm 136: 1-8;25-26

1. Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good.

        His love is eternal.

 
2. Give thanks to the God of gods.
        His love is eternal.
 
 

3. Give give thanks to the Lord of lords.

        His love is eternal.

 
4. He alone does great wonders.
        His love is eternal.
 

5. He made the heavens skillfully.

        His love is eternal.

 
6. He spread the land on the waters.
        His love is eternal.

 

7. He made the great lights.

        His love is eternal.

 
8. The sun to rule by day;
        His love is eternal.

 

25. He gives food to every creature.

        His love is eternal.

26. Give thanks to the God of heaven!

        His love is eternal.