His Door is Always Open

02/02/2017 15:12
It was a bad fibro day. I couldn’t muster up enough energy for my evening walk. Again. Sigh! It was happening too often these days. In days of yore, I’d go walking 7 days a week. These days it’s often an achievement if I am able to walk one day a week.
 
Oh well … the good news was that although I felt weak, I had sufficient strength to potter around the garden. So I pulled out my garden shears and tackled a job I’d been putting off for months—pruning the overgrown creepers that hung down from the large grey rocks in our backyard. They crept along the ground in a number areas like wandering puppies sniffing a trail for crumbs. It felt good to cut off all those creeping (but not creepy) creepers. I fetched a bin to collect all the trimmings and then trundled off to empty my container.
 
After I tipped the clippings into our green bin, I opened the little side-gate to return to our back garden. I thought I’d keep it open because I knew I’d need to do a few more trips back and forth. On my way to dump the next lot of cut foliage into our green bin, I turned to walk along the side of our home when it happened. I stopped. I stared. I stared some more. Wow!
Beyond the gate, a shaft of dappled sunlight fell on dark green foliage lighting it and enhancing its beauty. A laughing tree danced to the breezes’ music. My heart quickened. It was the first time I’d walked that way with the gate open. So the sight and view was new. Enchanting. It now looked a different place altogether. How surprising it was that such a wee change could make such a huge difference. And how attractive the view as I stood there drinking it in.
I praised God then that His door is always open to us. Nothing mars the way. Jesus called Himself by seven unique names, and each one gave us a fresh glimpse of Him! The Light of the World. (John 8:12) The Bread of Life. (John 6:35) The Way, the Truth, the Life. (John 14:6) The Good Shepherd. (John 10:11) The Resurrection and the Life. (John 10:25-26) The Vine (John 15:5)  
 
And the seventh?
 

I am the Gate,” Jesus said. “Whoever enters through me will be saved. 

He will come in and go out and find pasture”. (John 10:9)

 
Yes, we have free access to our Father through Jesus. Through Him, the sin that separated us from our Father in heaven was hurled far from us as the Gate swung wide open. So like a child skipping with glad excitement to her father’s room to be swooped onto her Daddy’s lap, you and I too can now run in boldly—to commune in intimacy with the Creator of the Universe.
Are you in need today? Seeking refuge? Or answers to life's conundrums? Are you desperate to quench your spiritual thirst? Why not approach our Father God in prayer. Nothing is too hard for Him. His door is wide open. Perhaps today is the day to experience the grace and the freedom God promises all who call on Him?
 

Will you come?

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 33:3

“Call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you and you will honour me.” Psalm 50:15

 “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us our time of need.” Hebrews 4:16