Hot, Cold or Lukewarm?

15/09/2016 11:47
It was time for a break. We packed our bags, loaded the car and zoomed off, out on the open road. Nature was dressed in her gorgeous springtime attire, the weather was fresh and bracing. I love travelling at this time of year. The green pastures and rolling hills of the Land Down Under never fail to beckon me, soothe me and refresh me. We found sunshine and clouds, friendly winds and cool breezes, meandering country roads and enchanting places.
 
Carefree lambs frolicked on their soft green playgrounds and sheep grazed contentedly. Jersey cows dotted the landscape—a picturesque black against the lime green grass. We reached our seaside destination and settled into a cosy beautiful cabin. I was fascinated by a large tame peacock that strutted around as if he owned the property. He hopped often onto our deck to peer inside, while his harem—four or five pea-hens, sat around lazily on the verandah of the cabin next to ours. Later that day, we explored the beach, sinking our feet into soft white sand; admiring the green cliffs which contrasted beautifully against the grey-blue sea, as the ocean sang to us sweet songs of joy.
Everything about our little cabin was just right or so it seemed. We liked its cream walls and panelled wooden floors. The kitchen was well fitted and well stocked. Our bedroom was larger than usual with full length mirrors, warm lights and a comfortable bed. But when I entered the spacious bathroom for my bedtime shower, I made my big discovery. The seemingly perfect cabin had one major flaw.

 

I turned on the taps—the water flow was meager ...  but that was only the beginning. Making sure the shower temperature was just right (as you do), I stepped under it. All was well for … 3 seconds. But then all at once, the water turned icy cold. Ouch!  Hurriedly, I fiddled with the taps, luring it back to more tolerable temperatures. But that again lasted for only … umm … 5 seconds. This time it spewed hot water. Oh no! I had to jump out of the way to escape the scalding water. I was forced to keep tinkering with the taps in order to have a decent shower. A very quick one too and I was glad to emerge unscathed.

It wasn’t a perfect cabin after all but no, I’m not grumbling. We did have a marvelous time away and returned home rejuvenated. And you know, my shower-time adventures were a timely reminder to check my own spiritual gauge. I’m often passionate about my faith and do aspire to be piping HOT all the time. But when my fibro battle rages and I suffer debilitating fatigue and pain, my walk with God tapers into meltdown mode. Praising Him and feeling thankful is very challenging at such times. So sad to say, my spiritual climate does seem to vacillate, just like those shower temperatures at Aldinga Bay.
 
A question bothers me. I’m able to cling to God and find His comfort when times are difficult and when in emotional pain. How is it then that I struggle to keep an equal level of fervour when physical suffering plagues me? Surely, my spiritual life should not be dependent on my physical state? It needs to be the other way around, don’t you think? My walk with God should drive my life through every sphere and every season.
The Apostle John’s vision on the island of Patmos included an admonition from Jesus to the church at Laodicea.  “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So because you are lukewarm, neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth….. Those whom I love, I rebuke and discipline”. Hard words, but ones I need to take heed of. Several years ago, God convicted me that 99% of allegiance to Him was not enough. He wanted all of me and asked for total surrender. I found then that it was the only way I would experience the abundance of the life He offers. 
 

But the glorious truth is that God is God and God is good. 

Give Him your heart and you find He will heap His riches on you, 

grace upon grace and in full measure. You can never outgive Him.

 
Are you hot, cold or lukewarm today?

Perhaps it’s time to adjust your spiritual temperature?

“Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervour, serving the Lord. 

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:11-12