Perfect Cover

26/03/2012 12:00

I walked down our steep, sloped driveway. It was time for my evening walk. The rain had fallen earlier in the day. Now, I hoped that the grey sky hadn’t more showers to surprise me with. I preferred to walk in dry conditions if I could. Yes, I loved the sound of rain when I was safe and snug indoors. But if out walking – a beautiful sun swept evening suited me much better.
 
As I reached the road, I glanced at Mitsy. Mitsy is my car. My lovely little blue Mazda 121. I’d parked Mitsy at the kerb opposite my driveway when I’d returned from work that day.
 
What I noticed now was that there was a lovely dry patch neatly formed under Mitsy. It was very visible. Every where else, the ground was wet after the drizzle. But not so under Mitsy. Mitsy had covered the ground of course. As cars do. Somehow, I am not sure why… but to my eyes that day, it was kind of comforting to see that dry area under her.

If I’d been a cat, I may have crept  under Mitsy when it rained, so I would not get wet. If I was an ant, a ladybug, a beetle or a caterpillar, I would have done the same. It looked a lovely cosy place, to be safe and dry from the incessant winter rains.
 
As I reflected on the perfect cover that Mitsy had been to the ground below (and also to any ants or other creepy crawlies who’d benefit from her shelter), I also reflected on my Father God. He has always been my favourite cover – my favourite hiding place.
 
When I needed protection from life’s storms, He was there. When I needed comfort, He was there. When I needed a refuge, He was there. When I needed His wisdom, He was there. When I needed a safe place, He was there. Even now….whenever I need protection and comfort – I know I can run to Him. And be safe.
 
Yes, God is the perfect cover for every situation. The perfect place to be in all day, every day, all year long.
 
‘He who dwells in the shelter of the most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.” Psalm 91:1,2