This one's for YOU, Julie

11/08/2013 17:21
Julie came into my life 8 months ago via a Facebook message. Julie wrote that she’d read my weekly blog and loved it. She added that she would continue to follow my blog. I was so happy to hear it. I asked if she’d like to be on my blog mailing list and she said ‘Yes’ at once. And that’s how Julie and I became friends.
 
That was on December 17th 2012. Today, as I write this, it’s August 8th, 2013 and Julie has passed from death to life. Beautiful, inspiring Julie has left us to a better place. She is now rejoicing in the presence of Jesus. I’m glad she’s not suffering any more but I also grieve her loss. In my brief acquaintance with Julie, I’ve discovered that she was a very special lady. And so I dedicate this blog to her. I thank God for her life.  I was blessed to have known her.
 
What grabbed me about Julie from the time I came to know her was the way she radiated God’s love and presence – no matter what was going on in her life. Less than 3 months after we made our acquaintance, Julie was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. Most people would have a pity party. And that would have been perfectly understandable. Not Julie.

 

Her faith was strong, real and unwavering. Her courage and positive attitude throughout her illness were inspiring. The many warm, heart-felt sentiments expressed by Julie’s family and friends over the last few months are a tribute to the kind of person she was. 
I grieve today that a special lady was taken from the world too quickly – Julie was too young to die. I feel sad that I didn’t have enough time to get to know her better. I grieve for her family and close friends who must feel her loss so deeply. I feel very sad that I couldn’t say goodbye to Julie although I wanted to.
 
I thank God for the many lessons I’ve learnt from this remarkable lady in a brief space of time. 

So what are some of the lessons Julie taught me?
  1. Live each day as Julie did.
        a. Live as if it were my last with courage, faith, love and joy.
 
2.   I am sad today that I couldn’t do much for Julie.
         a. But I should not waste time in regret. There are others who need me.
               b. Go and bless them. (I’m sure Julie would say the same.)

 

       3.    Life is short – so use my time well.
                    a. Spend time with people I love.
                    b. Appreciate them.
                    c. Do whatever I can, to whomever I can, whenever I can.

        

        4.    Trust God as Julie did.
                    a. Don’t waste time in asking ‘why?’
                    b. Instead ask ‘What now Lord’? Then go and do what He asks me to.
                    c. Claim God’s miracles but with calm acceptance of what life brings.
                    d. Be thankful – Julie’s amazing thankful spirit was evident even during her darkest days

 

        5. Reflect God's love to others the way that Julie did.
                a. Connect deeply with my loved ones.
                b. Smile often.
                c. Love others.
                b. Live fully.
                c. Proclaim the love of Jesus to a hurting world.
 
Thank you Julie for the brief time I enjoyed with you. Thank you for allowing me to share in your journey. I look forward to having that long conversation that eluded us in life – on another Shore. I look forward to seeing your lovely smile once more in a place where there’s no pain or tears, as we enjoy God's presence together.
“Life is eternal, and love is immortal, and death only a horizon; and a horizon is nothing save the limit of our vision.” Rossiter Worthington Raymond
 
Au Revior Julie. Till we meet again. Enjoy your well earned rest. 

“Well done, good and faithful servant. Enter into the joy of your Lord’.