Treasure in Earthen vessels

16/06/2017 14:47
A few weeks ago, I rushed off for a blood test. I hadn’t had  my usual Quiet Time with God before I left, so I was eager to return for my appointment with the King. Once home, I was ready for my second cuppa for the day, this time with my Special Friend. I took out the unique cup and saucer I keep for such occasions. I made a steaming cuppa and  placed it on the little table in our family room. I pulled back a chair for Jesus, then sat with Him, sipping my delicious, soothing cup of tea and chatting with Him, heart to heart. Mmmm. The tea refreshed me and His company revived me.
 
A few minutes later I glanced down and my eyebrows shot up. Oh no! The saucer had a piece chipped off and it’s exquisite beauty was marred. Sigh. But I knew what to do. I turned the chipped part away from me, then placed the cup back on it so it would hide the blemish. I smiled. Who would think it was flawed? The cup covered the broken part of the saucer. It now looked perfect!
Jesus through His death and resurrection, covers my sin, making me perfect in His sight. Isn’t that amazing? It sounds pretty unfair to me, but that’s exactly what He does. That day, I was struggling with guilt. I’d realised that I should have spoken words to enlighten a friend, but hadn’t been able to muster up the courage to do so. It was a bad choice made in a difficult moment which now weighed heavy on my shoulders. But … as I gazed at my cup and saucer, God warmed my heart with His grace and the weighty cloak of guilt fell off.
 
There are words I should speak but don’t. There are other words I don’t mean to say but I do. There are times my actions don’t match up to my convictions. Sometimes I let Him down. Too often I am selfish and want my own way. But … when I realise what I’d done or not done and repent of my sin, Jesus hears me. He covers me. He spreads His arms around me. He shields me with His feathers and holds me close, like an eagle with her young. The chipped saucer looked perfect from where I sat and through that picture Jesus whispered into my heart that yes, I might be a tarnished vessel, marred and scarred, but each time I repent of my sin—He covers my cracks and ugliness.
 
Perhaps you are in a difficult place today? Did you say something you now regret? Or perhaps you did something you wished you had not done? Don’t forget He died for you. He who calls us is always faithful.  The instant we turn to Him in repentance, His forgiveness flows like a river to wash over our iniquities. As far as the East is from the West, so far does He remove our sins from us. What grace. What freedom. What joy. 
 

Christ in me is my hope of glory!

 

My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. 

But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—

Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.

He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours 

but also for the sins of the whole world.” 1 John 2:1-2

“In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, 

in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us.” Ephesians 1:7

 

“For as high as the heavens are above the earth, 

so great is his love for those who fear him; 

as far as the east is from the west, 

so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

As a father has compassion on his children, 

so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him; 

for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.

Psalm 103:11-14