When Life Flings Things

14/10/2016 17:39
Recently, my husband enjoyed a week of holidays.  We spent three happy days away, sipping Nature’s rich spring wine. The morning after we got home, I made Shan’s cup of coffee and went looking for him. He was seated at his computer. Unfortunately the coffee didn’t quite make it. I tripped over a loose wire and the mug, hot coffee and I went spinning in the air. I landed with an ungainly thud, banging my knee and bruising it, while my tender feet took a beating. The coffee was splattered all over our light carpet and Shan’s special mug rolled away, miraculously intact. My good man's eyebrows shot up in surprise at this unusual display of wifely affection.
 
My beloved came up trumps. Really. Amazing man. (No wonder I married him!) I lay there for many long minutes, groaning and moaning in pain. Shan empathised with me paying no attention to the fact that he’d been splattered with sticky hot coffee himself. He gave me a hand up when I was ready. He briskly attended to the coffee stains on the carpet and fixed himself another drink. I give him 100 out of 100 for his response to me that day. What a man! Later, I said in jest that I’d come near his desk, said ‘Here’s your coffee’ and flung it at him! We both had a hearty laugh together over it.
Have you flung anything at anyone lately? What was their response? Life has an uncomfortable habit of throwing sticky things at us doesn’t it? Few of us go through life unscathed. Talk of sad surprises and they rain down on us thick and fast, especially when we least expect it. I remember a season I once went through when I l was bereft of many treasures close to my heart, all within a short space of 10 months. And then, three people close to me passed away with little warning. To complete my grief filled season with flourish, my fibro battle raged extra fiercely. ‘What next, Lord?’ I asked.
 
The years have taught me the best rejoinder to such times. Sitting at Jesus’ feet, shedding tears in His Presence and reading His word brought me healing then as He'd done many times before. He soothed me, refreshed me and led me to a spacious place where I am in today. So my period of loss gave way to a season of much gain and blessing. And you know, I've discovered over the years that when something bad happens, the why question doesn’t take me anywhere productive. God does not promise to explain why He allows bad stuff to happen to us. He does assure us though, that He would be with us through those times. So ‘What now, Lord?” is a better question to ask because that question always has an answer.
It would be great if we discovered God’s grace through a life of ease, wouldn’t it? But if my walk with God has taught me anything, it’s that jewels sparkle in the mud and slime which life flings at us. The one sure way of drawing closer to God’s heart is to experience difficulty, loss, tears and pain. Nothing brings us closer to Him more than hardship and trouble. Take my word for it. I've been there, and I've found many sparkling gems.
 
I’m grateful to my beloved for showing me the how I should act when life flings things at me. There are many ways of reacting. I could shake my fist and try to get even. I could mope and sulk. I could whine and pine. Or like my amazing husband, I could respond with compassion and love. I could be quick to do whatever is needed with patience and a bright smile.
 
Has life flung something unpleasant at you lately? I pray that God would comfort you, take you by the hand and lead you into a bright new spacious place of His choosing. May His light shine on your darkness, His love warm you and His arms be around you today.

‘The righteous cry out and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles. The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:17-18