A Simple Rubber Band

13/03/2014 16:42

 

As I’ve poured over the Word during my daily times with Jesus, a Bible verse would often grab me and speak into my heart. I’d copy it on a small piece of paper and add it to my growing collection. I would then place it in a little see-through plastic box. Subsequently, I’d pull the verses out from time to time and re-read them with the hope of memorizing those precious gems of truth.  
 
I now have a sizable collection of such verses. In fact, I’ve just counted them all – there are 192 verses to date. I’m not sure how many have been retained in my memory (alas my memory rarely serves me as well as it should), but I do enjoy picking a verse now and then to read and savour. The ones buried in my heart are like delicious pieces of chocolate hidden in an inside pocket to pop into my mouth when needed. The difference of course is that once I eat a piece of chocolate it vanishes for good. Not so with God's word. It stays there forever; it builds me up continually and others too when I share with them.
 
When I was preparing for my 3 months hibernation in January, I placed all those little verses inside a large envelope and put the envelope into a drawer by my bed. I hoped to do more memorising during this season. To my annoyance however, whenever I tried to take the verses out to have a read, all the little papers would invariably fall out of the envelope. It happened far too often. Very frustrating!
 
After picking them all up for the fifth time, I realised that an envelope was obviously not the best place to put them in. If I could have stuck the flap over, they’d have been safe. But that wasn’t practical. I’d have to tear the envelope open when I next wanted a verse out. And use a brand new envelope each time. No – not practical! It was then that a simple solution presented itself to me. Why not tie a rubber band around the envelope? Why not? Why didn’t I think of it earlier? (Brains, Anusha! Brains!) I clambered off my bed and hobbled to my desk drawer. I took out a rubber band. I placed it around my bulging envelope. And voila! I haven’t any trouble since.
A simple rubber band did the trick. As I reflected on what occurred - a verse from scripture came to mind. "Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 4:8. I like it; don’t you? What does it mean? When relationships get into a mess, I have an antidote. Love. A covering? Yes a covering. Just like that rubber band kept my bible verses safe, love also keeps things safe. It's also like an eraser. Love will rub out another's sin through forgiveness. 

And above all things have fervent love for one another, for love will cover a multitude of sins.” 1 Peter 4 verse 8

 
Here are some of the pictures that it brings to my mind:
  • When someone makes an unkind remark, place a covering of love over it and it will soon be forgotten.  
  • When a friend sins against me, let love in the form of forgiveness cover her sin.
  • When I feel let down by those I expected help from – remember that special covering of love. Expect less. Give more.
  • When someone offers me unwanted advice – don't mind it. Place a love covering over it? Heed wise words. Ignore the rest.
  • When in doubt over life’s little mysteries – remember to bring out my love cover. It will protect me and protect my relationships.
  • When the actions or words of another irritate me – use love to rub it out and don’t make a big deal of it.
  • When helping others in their difficulties – try a protective covering over them. Love of course. Sharing, helping, being the hands and feet of Jesus.
  • When life is frenzied and I am needed by too many – put on a beautiful love covering over every relationship. And let love have its day.
  • When hurt and in despair – don’t forget to hide inside God’s love covering – warm and secure.
Yes, love wins every time. But of course, I first need to ask God for a special portion of His love – so I will have plenty to share with others.  
 

“Therefore, as God's chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

 
 

 

And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” Colossians 3:12-14