How Character is Grown

28/02/2019 15:39

I love travelling on my own and my latest trip back from Sri Lanka was no exception. Often, our flights back home have been at dead of night so I’d be half asleep at the airport. This time there was a pleasant change. I boarded the plane at 10.50 a.m. rather than 1.30 a.m. Much better. Much much better. The four hour flight to Singapore was as enjoyable as always with nibbles and drinks, a delicious lunch, movies to watch and a collection of happy moments—time with my Papa, reading books, doing puzzles, praying for family and friends. And yes, I even managed a wee nap. Oh! I forgot to say that I also had two delightful travel companions. A Mum and adult daughter from NZ sat next to me and described their fabulous holiday in Sri Lanka. I was glad to meet them – such bright bubbly friendly ladies they were.
 
After the plane reached Singapore I decided to treat myself to a cup of tea and a slice of Tiramisu. (Yum!) I experienced more God moments, with my mp3 playing praise music in my ears as I stretched my legs in an airport cafe. A steaming cuppa soon worked its magic on me so I was alert and ready to tackle the next leg of my journey. I then had fun connecting with my beloved and my son as I browsed the free Internet, after which I enjoyed a walk in the vast airport’s picturesque spaces. I visited the restrooms a couple of times, and found one which was definitely out of the ordinary. It boasted ambient lighting, lush green plants and a spacious layout—a cosy little niche in a palace rather than the restroom in an airport.
When I looked to wash my hands, a sensor detected their presence and warm water was immediately squirted onto them. I looked for soap and instantly sweet smelling liquid soap sloshed into my waiting palms. Talk of luxury! I enjoyed my little interlude in there and gave the restroom a five star rating.  But … I couldn’t help wondering if such indulgence was necessary. Was this kind of classy technology an essential commodity? Are we getting so lazy in this 21st century world that we can’t even bother to turn a tap when needed?
 
People rail at God when life doesn’t go their way. Perhaps it’s because we think that God should be like my experience in that restroom—showering us with everything we hope for without the need to move a muscle for it. But is that really a blessing? God in His wisdom rarely gives me all I need on a platter. Instead, He makes me work for it or wait for it. I would be a very selfish person if He had given into my every whim. Adversity and hard work have worked together deepen my faith just like storms cause trees to grow deeper roots.
And so … I know my character has grown, not through periods of ease, but through tumultuous times. How grateful I am to him that He didn’t spoil me. He hid His face on occasion and made me pursue Him. And well before He gave me what I needed, He taught me the value of hard work and of prayer, of waiting and of trusting Him. He made me learn to walk, then run towards Him. And so I have found that being blessed is not about getting what I want whenever I wave my hand under a sensor that instantly yields my heart’s desires.
 
No. I am most blessed when I find God’s presence and help, His comfort and strength usually through tough situations and seasons. I discover afresh each time, that my Heavenly Father is alive and active and rewards those who diligently pursue Him. Being blessed is not about being pampered by a doting Daddy but being ushered me into His presence which is, (as we soon discover), the source of true JOY. If you are experiencing a tough season today, be assured that it’s not because God has turned His back on you. Often what seems to be our undoing is a precious package with your name on it, tied up with a beautiful bow of God’s goodness and mercy, His grace and His love.

May you find peace and His comfort as you wait for Him.

 
 

May the character He birthed in you this season 

resound to His glory for all eternity!

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of 

many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces 

perseverance. 

 

Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature 

and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4

Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, 

having stood the test, that person will receive the crown 

of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.

James 1:12