ONE THING

14/01/2017 13:01

In December 2016, a number of my extended family converged in Sydney. We arrived from America, England, Sri Lanka, Whyalla, Darwin, the Blue Mountains, Canberra and Adelaide. There were nineteen of us in total. My amazing brother Rohan and his equally amazing wife Swen showered us with warm hospitality in their beautiful home, ensuring we were pampered and well fed, gifting us with a time to remember. What a special Christmas day—filling 3 pews at church with 3 generations from 4 continents. We revelled in times of family togetherness, picnics, dinners, chatter, laughter, games and fun and the days flew by in a happy blur. We returned to Adelaide after Christmas with full hearts and joyful spirits.
 
And then, as the New Year dawned, we had the pleasure of having my big sis Ranmali, her husband and their younger son visit us. What joy! Adelaide gave them an especially warm welcome in 40 degree heat! Aaaarrrgh! Thankfully the heat quickly waned, allowing us the freedom to roam further afield, basking in the beauty around us. We filled many picnic baskets and enjoyed numerous meals under the blue South Australian skies. Once again, we were deeply blessed, packing our kaleidoscope of memories with more colour and beauty.
Last Friday, after that precious, long, busy busy month, I finally had time to quieten my soul. I’ve been looking for songs which brought me into God’s Presence, but finding the right music wasn’t easy. What a gift it was then, that when my sister and I visited my favourite book shop, I found just what my heart longed for. Meditative Worship“ stated the cover and I knew my search had ended. A few days ago, I sat still as quiet worship songs ushered me into His Presence and I communed with my Creator, the Giver of all good things. Like a refreshing dip in a cool forest pool on a hot summer’s day, He renewed and transformed me from the inside out.
 
A verse quoted in a book I’m studying in my Quiet Time, (‘Satisfy my Thirsty Soul’ by Linda Dillow). grabbed me and spoke powerfully to me. 
 

One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek; 

that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, 

to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in his temple.” Psalm 27:4

What one thing would I choose this year as my main focus?

 
I enjoy spending time in a group of like-minded individuals—be it a large family gathering, an invigorating Christian Conference or a companionable evening with friends. I also revel in deep meaningful one on one conversations. Groups are great. Individuals matter. But the truth is that while good times with family and friends do satisfy me, other human beings (like me) are human. They (like me) have their limitations. They (like me) are not designed to be all things to all people. If ever I’ve contrived to fill the empty spaces in my life with others, God has gently emptied my hands in order to show me Whom I really need.
 
In his book “Renovation of the Heart” Dallas Willard writes: “The secret of all life-giving relationships with others lies in the fact that the primary other for us, whether we want it or not, is always God.” Willard expresses it so well. Jesus alone is sufficient to meet my deepest needs. He alone is able to be there for me all day, every day, for all of my lifetime. God alone knows the future and can guide me in the right path. And so … the best way to cultivate a meaningful relationship with anyone else is by first pursuing an intimate walk with God. 
 

He is the blazing Sun around which we all must travel.

As I look ahead to 2017, I will decide to live with intention, joy and purpose. I will set myself goals to reach. I will plan on deepening my relationships. I will reach out to care for others. But FIRST ... I will seek God. I will spend time in His Presence. I will set aside the choicest portion of my day to gaze upon His beauty and to worship Him.
 

 

ONE THING 

I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek; 

that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, 

to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in his temple. 

 

For in the day of trouble  he will keep me safe in his dwelling; 

he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.

I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD." 

Psalm 27:4 - 5; 13 - 14

 
 

Will you join me?