The Mystery of the Disappearing Slipper

29/09/2018 21:53
My boys and I zoomed off on meandering roads last week in search of new horizons, enchanting vistas, rest and relaxation. We were not disappointed. What I love most about travelling at springtime is being able to view Nature’s incredible artshow where  the strokes of God’s paintbrush are vivid and visible. Rolling green hills, bright yellow carpets of canola rippling in the wind, winding roads that sang songs to us as we journeyed - these were some of the blessings we enjoyed. Fluffy cotton clouds smiled at us from the heavens. The sun shone warm on our skin. The road welcomed us and carried us effortlessly across the miles.
 
After a few hours, we arrived at our destination, (the pretty town of Clare), and soon settled in. Our little cabin was spotless, furnished with everything we needed ... except perhaps sufficient space to stretch our legs. Thankfully, it didn’t matter because we were located in spacious parklands that were filled with tall beautiful gum trees and plenty of walking areas. It even boasted a flora and fauna park right next door that included deer, sheep and emus. That evening, Shan and I went on a little exploration of our surrounds, revelling in and drinking in the interesting sights and sounds that assailed our senses.
At night we enjoyed a home cooked meal, relaxed with books, then turned in. As usual, I had to get up in the wee hours to use the washroom, so donned my soft striped slumbies on my cold chubby feet. I got back to bed afterwards and fell into a deep sleep. The next morning, I looked around for my footwear. One little slumbie looked up at me coyly, awaiting instructions, but its partner was missing in action. That’s strange! Had I accidentally kicked it under the bed? The bed was low, and there was very little space under it.
 
My husband and I did our best to find my wandering slipper. We moved our bed hither and thither in the tiny crowded space and peered under it from every angle. I even poked a broom under the bed trying to push out the hapless slumbie. But no! My slipper had mysteriously disappeared. We wondered then if a burglar had got in, so checked our wallets but thankfully nothing else was missing.
Finally, bewildered but determined to get to the bottom of the enigma, I began looking on TOP of the bed. Perhaps I’d accidentally got back into bed with it? I pulled the sheets and duvet but there was no sign of it. Strange. A second search coupled with a hefty dose of determination finally cracked it. There lay the disobedient slumbie – hiding in the crevices of my covering sheet. Hooray! At last. Problem solved. What a relief!
 
During my Quiet Time that very morning God led me to study a portion of the Proverbs which extolled the virtues of wisdom.

“If you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.” Proverbs 2:3-5

Wisdom has never fallen into my lap as I sat waiting for it. No, I had to run after it; I had to seek it out with all my heart, just as I hunted for my wandering slumbie that day. The good news is that acquiring wisdom isn’t dependent on how clever I am or how high my IQ. Wisdom is available to anyone and everyone who desires to have more of it. The only requirement is that we pursue it with all of our being like drowning men and women gasping for air. 
 
 
Are you looking for an answer to life’s challenges? Has the solution eluded you no matter what you did and where you looked? Jesus often spoke in parables, so it was only those who were serious about finding the truth who found it. Let’s seek God’s wisdom as if our lives depended on it. Next to seeking God Himself, the Word is a wonderful place to begin. Wise friends are helpful as are books, pastors, professionals, teachers or family. The best part is that the Author of wisdom is right beside us in our quest and we will find more of Him as a bonus. And He, after all is the key to the wisdom  that we seek.
 
 

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,

and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

Proverbs 9:10

“For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. 

 
He holds success in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless, 

for he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones.” 

Proverbs 2:6-8