A Pair of Broken Sunglasses

25/04/2014 15:47
 
Many years ago, I made an important discovery - I needed to wear sunglasses every time I was out in the sunshine. If I didn’t, the repercussions were extremely unpleasant. I’d see flashing lights in the corner of my eyes. I’d have awful bilious attacks. Even on days when the sunshine was dulled, my sunglasses had to be popped meticulously on my (odd looking) nose because the UV rays affected me even then. More recently I found that a dose of sunlight in my eyes gave me blurred vision. Not a happy experience. Now I’ve become extremely vigilant about wearing sunglasses when out and about.
 
I was delighted to discover that inexpensive sunglasses worked well for me. The last pair kept my eyes safe. Unfortunately, one day I found that an arm had broken off my sunglasses. It was time to buy a new pair. Wait a moment. I did have a new pair somewhere didn’t I? Months ago, I’d misplaced my sunglasses. I’d immediately bought another pair and had kept them somewhere safe for when I’d have need of them.
The problem was that my so called ‘safe places’ were often difficult to find. (Does that sound familiar?) They weren’t in my desk drawers; they weren’t inside my bedside cupboard; they weren’t inside my handbag. Oh dear.… where were they? I’d practically given up hope of finding them when I found them reposing lazily inside a box of envelopes. (Now why on earth did I place them there?) I pounced on them eagerly. How convenient that I had a new pair I could use the moment I needed them. In fact, I discovered that my new sunglasses were just as good as my old ones; if not better.
Many times in life I lose things which are precious to me. Things which are not ‘things’; intangible items. Like Relationships. Health. Hopes. Dreams. Of course Intangibles are far much more precious than mere objects. Several years ago, I’d spent 6 whole years job hunting. At the end of those 6 years I had only 1 interview. And no, sadly, I didn’t get the job. After that one failed interview I was very sad and very upset. But do you know - out of my loss sprang an astonishing gain. 
 
As a child I’d had a very special DREAM. To become a Writer.
Out of my failure then came something far more important than a mere job. Out of that loss came the fulfillment of my childhood dream. Wow! Thank you God. And what of those 6 long years? They were not wasted. On no! They were a preparation to my calling. I learnt then that when God closes one door, He also flings open a door I never knew existed, so He could lead me to fresh green pastures. In fact, life could even become exhilarating during such times, if I choose to trust Him. Because of course, God is always in control. And God knows what He is about.
 
Today I stand at crossroads. Once again I’ve lost something intangible. The future is scary. It lies before me - a dense forest. Daylight is fading. I haven’t a clue as to where to go or what to do. But God’s given me a new pair of glasses. My new ‘glasses’ protect me from the glare of uncertainty. They propel me forward. Earlier this year as I contemplated what the year might bring, God gave me two special verses. 
 
 

“I will instruct and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel and watch over you.” Psalm 32:8

Whether you turn to the right or the left, your ears shall hear a voice behind you saying ‘This is the way, walk in it.’” Isaiah 30:21 

 
At that time I hadn’t understood why I would need them. Now I do. The past few months have been a season of grief, confusion, uncertainty. Today as I read the two verses again they fill me with hope; a wholesome meal to my hungry soul. My vision is not blurred or distorted anymore. My 'new glasses' will ensure I suffer no ‘bilious attacks’. I am safe. I am well.
 
My old glasses are broken; but I needn't have worried. Well before I needed them, God blessed me with a new pair of ‘glasses’ for my spiritual journey. My new glasses of truth assure me that He will continue to lead me. I am relieved...... but only for a moment. As I peer ahead, I notice that night is falling around me. It is too dark to see the way. My eyes grow wide in dismay. But once again, God’s Word whispers quiet encouragement into my listening ears. His Holy Spirit is within me. He will guide me.
 
Have you lost something? Does the future look bleak today? God's special glasses will work for you too. They offer fresh insight. Despair turns to hope; tears to joy; confusion replaced by clarity. The forest is murky and I can’t see beyond my nose. But His Word instructs me and there's light for just one step ahead.

 

I hear His Voice whisper in my ear: 

“My Presence will go with you and I will give you rest.” Exodus 33:14

His Presence makes all the difference.

 

I put on my new glasses.

 
And I take the first step.....
 

"I will lead the blind in ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them." Isaiah 42:16