Enjoying the Journey

17/11/2016 18:24
Music and writing have been two major passions in my life. In the first half of my life I sang my way through every season. In the next half of my life however, it hasn’t been quite so obvious. But let me assure you … I'm still singing. As I've travelled on life's highway, the beauty of God’s Creation and His rich gift of music have helped me experience, know and connect deeply with God. 
How grateful I am!
 
My blog today is a bit different. In fact, it's not even a blog. Instead I bring you music. I composed  this song six years ago to sing at the launch of my first book. It describes my life’s journey. God's been calling me to a new season of song, so perhaps this unusual blogpost might be the first of many. I hope you enjoy it (and as you scroll down, do make sure your speakers are on!)
 
Enjoying the Journey
1. Standing at the Station called Life,
The train came by and I got on.
It’s a long and winding journey, sometimes great; but so often not,
Problems, heartache, disappointment,
Sickness, Sadness, Failures, Troubles,
Is that all we’ve got? //
2. Riding on a Train called Life,
On a rail-road that stretches far ahead,
It’s a long and winding journey, but I met a special Guide.
He provided Strength and Courage,
Love and Goodness, Truth and Beauty,
Jesus is my Guide. //
So Thank you Lord, I’m enjoying the journey,
You’ve planned it all; You’ve provided all I need.
It’s one I can enjoy, all the way,
Not just when life is grand, but e’en through the darkest day.
Your love has saved me; Your grace has changed me,
And the One who knows the way, is leading me.
Your love has healed me, Your Grace has freed me,
And the One who knows the way, He's leading me.
3. I’ve found a map, it's God’s sure Word,
The Word’s a lamp that lights my way.
My journey’s long and winding, but He’s worked it out for me.
There are fellow pilgrims on my journey,
Giving help and strength and comfort,
What a glorious way. //

So Thank you Lord, I’m enjoying the journey,

You’ve planned it all; You’ve provided all I need,

It’s one I can enjoy, all the way,

Not just when life is grand, but e’en through the darkest day.

Your love has saved me; Your grace has changed me,

And the One who knows the way, He's leading me.

Your love has healed me, Your grace has freed me,

And the One who knows the way, He's leading me.

Wishing you God's love and light on your Journey.

May He also bless you with His Joy, His Peace and most of all His Presence.