Nothing is ever wasted

09/06/2013 13:38

It’s been an epic, exhilarating month. After 3 months of hibernation (since my operation In January), I woke up on the 2nd of May 2013 to join the real world. It has been great. I’ve suddenly felt totally ALIVE!

 

When I’d begun to hunt for a job many years ago, I had wished that I could work at our church. The reason was that I loved being there in a voluntary capacity. I wondered if I could work for a Christian organisation who’d rented a few of our rooms. I checked it out. But no, it didn’t happen. And I was disappointed. That was then. And now?
 
This past month, I have been employed in our church. It has been a great joy to drive the couple of minutes it takes me to get there – just across the road from my home. As I’ve been busy with many varied tasks in my office at CareLink, I’ve remembered with awe and gladness that my hopes of working right here at the Golden Grove Baptist Church have now been realised. Yes, I have work to do in God’s house. And I thrive on it.
 
 I’ve felt warmed in the knowledge that God has placed me there. I love having a room in the church where I can invite people in to pray together if needed. I’ve relished all the one on one connections I’ve had with folks. My new responsibilities have stretched me, because I’ve been forced to sometimes extend myself way beyond my comfort zone. I’ve even found pleasure in tasks I’d expected to find boring. It all goes to show that this Adventure we call LIFE is packed with unexpected bonuses.
 
One day last week, I was up to my neck in figures. Trying to understand the financial side of things. Studying them as if my life depended on it. I wouldn’t go as far as saying I enjoyed the process, but let me put it this way. I was perfectly content. It was another learning curve. And I was happy. As I added several numbers together, I held in my palm, a little calculator. It was one my son had used for an exam a few years ago. After his exam paper was over, he’d had no use for it. But before he put it away as redundant, I’d asked him for it, sure it would come in handy one day.

As it certainly did. It blesses me now as I use it. I am sure it will continue to be a useful tool in my hands. You know...it wasn’t worth much. So it could have been discarded. But it wasn’t. It now sits on my desk in my church office, waiting to be used every day. Something small but something useful.
 
My little blue calculator reminded me that in God’s economy, nothing is ever wasted. It’s a truth that I have been reminded of time and time again. When I look back at seasons in my life where I’ve struggled or grieved or been in immense pain  – I now view them differently – as blessings and gifts from an all wise God; it’s just that I couldn’t see it at the time.

Those seasons have helped me grow. They’ve helped me understand others better. They’ve sowed into my life. Built my character. Helped me empathise with others. Without those times, I would not be the person I am today. Like a chrysalis that finally yielded a beautiful butterfly, I’ve needed those times to become all I’m created to be.

 

As I ponder and reflect, I am deeply thankful. I can use the wisdom and heart knowledge those seasons have taught me to communicate. My writing would connect with those going through difficult times because they would know I understand. Yes, in God’s economy, nothing is ever wasted.

 
I wonder what kind of circumstances you are grappling with today. Are they good times? Or difficult ones? A season of ease? Or a season of pain? Whatever your present season, I know that when God is with you in it – it will reap blessing as you trust our Father God. He never wastes anything. Not pain. Not sadness. Not ill health. Not difficulty. No, He uses it all for good. Even as the sun rises each day, we know that our God is good. And that His purposes likewise stand sure as the setting sun. And so, we can trust Him wholly.
 

One glorious day, your present season will be used for good.

May God flood you with His peace as you wait with patience and continue to hope in Him.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28