Standing on a Rock

02/06/2013 13:12
 
It was all of 14 years ago that we moved into our cosy little home in Australia. Since then, my husband and I have enjoyed a little ritual as he leaves for work each morning. He kisses me goodbye at our front door. Then I walk outside with him into our front yard so I can wave him off. The first wave is as he reaches the road from our ‘oh-so-steep’ driveway. The second and last wave is just before he disappears off my horizon.
 
In the first few years, I’d stand in our little patch of green outside our front door. However, after the passage of many years, the foliage in our neighbour’s yard had grown taller. It prevented me, (‘shorty’ that I am) from being able to see my man once he turned the corner. And so I had to stand on a large rock to see him and to wave him off.
 
Last week was Shan’s 55th birthday. Our little pet giraffe Raffy and I did our usual routine. Afterwards I stood for awhile on my rock, enjoying the cool morning air and the beauty of a new day. Once I returned indoors, I couldn’t resist putting in a FaceBook post about Shan’s birthday. After all, 55 is a significant age and should not be passed by, should it? There were many caring wishes from many lovely people in response. One of my friends had (naturally) asked me ‘Why are you standing on a rock?” Good question. Why indeed?
 
After I explained I needed the height in order to see my man, I found myself smiling. It did sound strange, no doubt. The words ‘Standing on a rock’ resonated in my mind. I thought to myself ‘I am still standing on a Rock.’ But it wasn’t the rock on the edge of our driveway that I was thinking about. The Rock I was thinking of was Jesus.
 
The Word tells us that Jesus is a Rock. What does it mean? I wonder what you see in your mind’s eye when you think of a rock? Let me tell you the picture that comes to my mind. Something large; strong and dependable; steadfast and immovable. When I stand on a rock, my feet feel secure. Even if the earth should shake under me, my rock would hold me. A solid base. One where I can hold my head high even when storms rage and the darkness falls. Where the storm waters cannot reach. One where I need never fear.
Here are some verses from the Word which describe this Rock to us:
“For who is God besides the LORD? And who is the Rock except our God?”
Psalm 18:31
 
 “He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just. A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.” Deuteronomy 32:4
 
"There is no one holy like the LORD; there is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.”
1 Samuel 2:2
 
"The LORD is my Rock, my fortress and my deliverer.” 2 Samuel 22:2
 
“For who is God besides the LORD? And who is the Rock except our God?”
2 Samuel 22:32
These verses tell me He is sure. Steadfast. Faithful. Holy. Unlike any other. A Fortress. My Deliverer. Have I found Him so? Yes, yes and yes. He has been all of that and more. And yes, I am now standing on that Rock. A Rock that will never give way under me.
 
How then should I respond to Him?
1. With Praise and Adoration.
    Come, let us sing for joy to the LORD; let us shout aloud to the rock of our salvation.
    Psalm 95:1
 
2. By standing firm, unshaken by the events in my life.
    He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
    Psalm 62:2
 
3. By seeking His guidance. It is sure.
    “Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead and guide
    me.” Psalm 31:3
 
4. By desiring to please Him.
    “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight.
     LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14
 
5. By sharing Him with all the world.
    The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock! Exalted be God my Savior!” Psalm 18:46
 
Sometimes I am too short to see the road from my vantage point; sometimes the way is too dark. Sometimes the gales of life blow too strong for me. Then I climb upon my Rock. I stand firm in Him. I find in Jesus my Strength and my Song; my Rock and my Deliverer; my Fortress and my Strong Tower; my All in all.
 
Have you found that Rock?
“Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal. “

Isaiah 26:4