Talking to the Boss

14/12/2013 14:03
Several years ago, “Kelp” was recommended by my doctor in order to help my weakening thyroid function. When I returned from my Writer’s conference in October this year, I couldn’t find my bottle of Kelp pills. I was apportioning my tablets for a new week but was held back by that vanished bottle of Kelp.
 
I hunted around my food cupboard where it usually reposes. No sign of it there. I looked up on top of our fridge where my husband keeps his pills. No. Not there either. Hmmm…! It was a puzzle. The pills had been unavailable at my usual health food shop and Shan had bought them for me only recently from the city. They had to be there!
 
The next day I looked again. It irritated me by now. They couldn’t have walked away after all! This time I even prayed. I looked thrice in the same place. No! They were NOT there. I looked in my kitchen drawers. I looked inside my hand bag. Finally, I wandered over to my husband’s domain – where his computer resides and where Shan spends a good portion of his time. This time I found something. A brown paper bag. And guess what was inside? They looked like my kelp pills. Oh!
 
I wondered whether to take a pill at once – as I usually would after breakfast. But held back. What if they were some other pills that looked like Kelp but weren’t? So I decided it was safer to wait and speak to ‘the boss’. I knew Shan was at a meeting. So I waited patiently for an hour till he was done. Once I was sure his meeting was over – I sent a text message to ‘the boss’ asking him if it was OK to call and then followed it up with a call.
 
I was very glad I’d waited. Shan had accidentally dropped my bottle of kelp tablets during the weekend. The bag I was going to dip into contained the pills that were unsafe to ingest. They had broken bits of glass among them. The safe pills were residing safely in a different place altogether; inside an old bottle of Vitamin C. I was so glad I had waited. It hadn’t cost me much to wait. It would have cost me more if I’d accidentally ingested some glass with my Kelp tablet.
That made me ponder on my consulting habits. I confer with my ‘boss’ on a daily basis about things that matter. Marriage is a partnership isn’t it – and so we need to work things out together. But what about my Boss – do I do the same with God Himself? Sometimes I do. Sometimes I don’t. I do go to God every morning for my marching orders and I do try my best to listen to Him. I do greet Him as I wake up and say ‘Good Morning Holy Spirit. Good Morning God. Good Morning Jesus.’ And then I ask Him to take over.
 
But do I depend on Him all the time?
Jesus said to his disciples that when he went away he would send the Holy Spirit to be their Counsellor, their Guide, their Comforter. The Holy Spirit is my Leader too. He is my Guide. He knows everything I don’t. He knows what is safe for me and what isn’t. He knows what’s contaminated. He knows what is pure. He knows everything about everything. Where the little bits of glass are that can prick me. Where the pathway lies and where the detours are. He knows the best plans for me today, tomorrow and in the days to come.
 
How foolish then when I forget to turn to His counsel. Much wiser of course to cultivate an attitude of dependence on Him. The Holy Spirit together with God the Father and God the Son created the world, the universe and everything in it, even little old me. He is the One I can depend on. He is my Wisdom. He is my Helper. He is my Story. He is my Song.
 
Have I remembered to talk to the Boss today?
 
“If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father that He will give you another Counselor to be with you forever, the Spirit of Truth. But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

 

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:16, 26, 27