Try a little Music... spread a little Glee

10/11/2013 16:45
Music and song have been part of my life as far back as I remember. I've always loved to sing. I sang my way through my childhood. I sang my way through my teenage years. I sang my way through my twenties. And I still love to sing. I may not be part of a choir now – but I sing as lustily as I can when worshipping God in church. Sometimes I walk around our neighbourhood oval belting out praise songs to my Father God – (don’t worry – it’s when no one else is around) –  a little bird making melodies with joy and abandon.
 
Yes, I love to sing. So it was a big thrill when I won a free voice training lesson with Voicewell a few months ago. Voicewell, (a voice coaching business), is run by my friend Karina. Karina has a voice of an angel and the smile of one as well. Since my heart has felt rather bruised and battered state of late, I’d made a decision last week. I would make Friday, Nov 8th a day of celebration. Of life; of God; of His goodness to me. And what better way to do that than with an hour of praise with someone who also loved God?
 
Karina turned up at 11 am, just as she promised. Seeing her beautiful smiling face at my front door brightened my heart. I spent an enchanting hour with her learning many things I’d had absolutely no knowledge of before. I didn’t know that there are true and false folds in our vocal chords. Did you? I knew I had to use my diaphragm in my breathing – but I discovered that I wasn’t using that knowledge while I sang. No wonder then that I was often out of breath. (Use that diaphragm Anusha!)
It was only one hour of instruction. But one crammed with insights which will help me sing better and talk better. One of the songs she chose ministered to me very powerfully. I was awed – the words echoed words God has spoken to me through His Word only a few days before. Talk of healing a battered heart. Not only did my head grow in wisdom. My heart too was blessed as I worshipped God. It was a precious time.  
 
I told Karina that although she wouldn’t have a clue as to how or why – she was a ministering angel to me that morning. I’d fixed the lesson about 6 weeks prior to that day. I didn’t know then that it would not only help me sing better, it would also help me heal. I didn’t know. But of course God did.
 
Music is one of God’s loveliest gifts to us, don’t you think? As I study God’s word every morning, I love hearing praise songs rise to God around me. Music soothes me. It comforts me. It sets me free. It has a way of connecting me to my Father God in a way that nothing else does. Many of my awesome times of worship have risen out of hearing a song that spoke to my heart, stopping my Bible study at once to bow down and worship God – enjoying His presence; declaring that He is Lord. Lord of my life. Lord also of this grand Universe that He has fashioned through His heart and Hands of love.
I was reminded of another gift of God when I received a lovely long birthday email from my special friend Marto. In the days of our youth, Marto and I had regularly exchanged 30 page snail mail letters.Writing them came easily to us, like sliding gaily down a water slide on a bright summer’s day. No wonder then that my learned friend Marto went on to do a PHD in English. Her humble friend (little me) is now pursuing a career in Creative Writing. Perhaps those letters were the foundation of both our vocations! Marto mentioned something significant in her last letter - the power of humour. A timely reminder. (Thank you Marto)
 
Music is great therapy. Laughter is also great therapy. I made sure my day of celebration included lots of both. I was deeply touched when my friend Leanne gifted me last week with her own precious copy of an Adrian Plaas book. (Bless you Leanne) I’ve been chuckling over it since. Its humour adds much to my pleasure.

 

Are you feeling jaded? Why not try a little music. Are you feeling sad? Why not try a little laughter. I now embrace my present season of life with music in my heart and a bright smile upon my lips. With laughter bubbling within. Life is good. Music’s grand. Laughter is great medicine. And don’t forget… ..... .... ....... .... God’s mercies are new every morning.

It’s time to celebrate!

Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord; let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come before Him with thanksgiving and extol Him with music and song.

 

For the Lord is a great God, the great King above all gods. Come, let us bow down in worship, let us kneel before the Lord, our Maker; for He is our God and we are the people of His pasture, the flock under His care. Psalm 95:1,2,3,6,7