Every Single Day

28/06/2018 17:47
Outlook is a dandy program for sending emails. I enjoy creating numerous different folders to categorise and store my messages. I like it that its emails are not bunched together because stand-alone emails are much easier for me to deal with. Its Calendar is brilliant, reminding me of appointments well ahead of time (provided I remember to put them in, of course)! Yes, Outlook is my first and best choice in email-writing and my life’s simpler for it.
 
When my beloved bought me a brand new computer last year, I had to change from an old version of Outlook to a newer one. But … as it often happens, I ran into a little snag. Every few days, I was forced to manually change the default font I use in my emails, three times over. I wasn’t happy with that but what’s a girl to do? Well, it only could get better, right? Wrong. A week ago, I discovered that Outlook had decided to annoy me further. I found I now have to change the default font each time I start my computer. Hmm! Did the program inventors think I was bored and needed a distraction?
Yes now, (in case you didn't get that) I have to change it every single day. Or else, I will be stuck with the colour and font chosen by Outlook. Not happy! Not happy at all. But then … there are other habits I should cultivate and work on every single day aren't there? I need to spend time with Jesus, saturate myself in the promises of His Word and seek intimacy with Him every single day. Being an occasional believer isn’t sufficient. I need to surrender to Him who loves me when I wake up every morning. I need to make a choice to listen to His still small voice and to obey Him. Every single day.
 
Satan doesn’t have a day off so he needs resisting every single day. I need to stand against his wiles and temptations. Every single day. As St Paul informs us in Ephesians 6, I must wear the breastplate of righteousness, have my feet fitted with the shoes of the gospel of peace, put on my helmet of salvation, hold the shield of faith to withstand Satan’s arrows, take up the Sword of the Spirit, (God’s Word) to fight him when he advances. Every single day.
Simply hoping I will grow as a person without intention or seeking times of reflection won’t help me. I need to read books that will feed my spirit, spend time with those who encourage my walk with God, give ear to wise counsel, allow God to change me as I open myself to His Holy Spirit. A lifetime can pass in the blink of an eye, so I need to ensure I am consistent every single day.
 
Blessing my family is a choice I must make daily—to love them in practical ways, to sacrifice my time to serve them, to be there for them every single day. Choosing to enrich the lives of those whom I encounter is needed, not just on days I feel good but also on days I don’t. Love doesn’t depend on the weather or my feelings. Love is a result of my being filled with His Spirit every single day. Daily choices will lead me to the person I become and the kind of life I will live. My life has to be lived wisely, every single day.

 

But ... in case it all sounds too much, let me encourage you.

 
We have a God who is with us every single day. (Heb 13:5)

He is also for us every single day. (Romans 8:31)

His love is available every hour, every moment, every single day. (Psalm 103:17)

He died and rose again to give us life abundant for our every single day.  (John 10:10)

Life’s not a quick sprint; instead, it's a long marathon to be run with purpose, hope, strength and courage. Let me not reach the end of my journey with a heart filled with regret. 

 

Life is too short not to seek be wise and loving, good and kind, every single day. 

Life is too precious not to aim to become the person He has created me to be. Every single day.
 

So … let me choose Jesus and His ways, let me choose the life He asks of me.

 Every Single Day.

"Therefore my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give 

yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour 

in the Lord is not in vain." 1 Cor 15:58