Take the letter G with you

03/01/2019 22:08
So it’s a New Year! I love new beginnings, don’t you?  It means hope, anticipation, excitement. It means I get to turn to a new page in life’s book. It means that the past is left behind as we reach for a brighter tomorrow. It means that the unwanted baggage of the year can be discarded and only what's needed retained for 2019.
 
One of its best aspects of our house move last year was that my husband and I were each blessed with a space to call our own. In our former home, my computer sat slap bang in the middle of the family room where our TV also resides, so there was constant noise around me. Writing was difficult. But now … I have my own special space to write in, dream in and pray in. (Wow! Thank you God.) When my boys are home and the TV is on. I’m able to close two sets of doors which shut out all sound and distraction. I then retreat into my quiet happy place, a room where I can not only write and pray in, but where I find renewal and refreshment every day.
Some years ago, a lady we loved dearly went home to heaven. Her daughter (my lovely sister in law, Swen) discovered a beautiful card among her possessions, dated May 1999. Sweet, smiling serene Aunty Rosa had written just two words inside the card: ‘Dearest Anusha’. That was all. But although there was no letter from her as she’d obviously planned to write to me, now, 20 years later, her empty card still speaks volumes, deepens my faith and encourages me. The words on the card convey all that is needed.
 
 

“With God, all things are possible” 

I came upon it again last year when sorting my belongings for our house move. And you know, I found it when I needed it most because our house selling and buying season turned out to be a very stressful one. Seven months later, the truth of the promise 'With God, all things are possible' was proved afresh, when in spite of umpteen challenges, God triumphantly led us to our dream home. Recently, as I sat at my desk one morning in prayer, I noticed that one of the letters on the card had a long picturesque twirl under it, undergirding the quote. The letter ‘g’ is usually not a very artistic letter, I don’t think.
 
But this one was eye-catching enough to cause my eyebrows to shoot up and to bring big dollop of joy to my heart. And then ... over the twirly simple ‘g’ was the capital G from the word ‘GOD’! They were both reminders that I should take the letter ‘G’ with me into 2019, because I know that when God goes before me, all will be well. In fact, I can testify with joy that for almost 45 years, God has gone before me into each New Year. And not once has He failed me.
 
G stands for other alluring aspects of my Daddy God too.
  • God is GOOD. He is also the Author of all that is GOOD.

  • His GRACE brings life, hope and new beginnings.
  • His GLORY is my life’s aim and my goal in 2019.

G might even stand for Gentleman, because God is a Gentleman and will not intrude if I don’t want Him to. Scripture reminds me though that I can never run from God. And no matter what’s going on in my life, when I seek Him with all my heart, I will find Him. He is always here, right beside me. He grants me (and you) my (and your) heart's desires, the hopes and dreams of what humanity yearns for—Freedom, Joy, Love, Peace, Eternal Life, all of which are found only in and through Him.
 

Today’s blog was brought to you by the letter G

So … would you take the letter G into the New Year with you? 

Would you place your hand in God’s strong Hand? 

Would you give 2019 into His safe keeping? 
 

Would you declare His Goodness, soak in His Grace and live for His Glory

My words today are prompted by and brought to you by a 

Generous, Gracious, Giving, Glorious, Good Good God who is also our Father.

Let 2019 resound to His glory as we live for Him.

 
His divine power has given us everything we need for life 

and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us 

by his own glory and goodness. 2 Peter 1:3

To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious 

presence without fault and with great joy— to the only God our Savior be glory, 

majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages,

now and forevermore! Amen. Jude 1:24-25