There is POWER

20/01/2013 20:07

 

I’ve just spent two days experiencing much kindness at the hands of complete strangers. Two days in hospital – being totally dependent on others for all of my needs; not even able to get to the toilet on my own or to pick up a wandering hairbrush when it fell off my hospital bed. The doctors and nurses were very good to me. Yes, I had to stop my active life for awhile and stay flat on my back. Yes, I experienced much pain and discomfort. But I was operated on by a skilful surgeon, enjoyed a comfortable stay in a good hospital; had healthy, delicious meals served me regularly. Most important of all, was the expert care I received from trained nurses. They came very willingly to help me whenever I summoned them by the ringing of a bell. My time in hospital would not have been the same if not for the kind Abbies and Kristens, Cynthias and Annettes who were around to help me with a ready smile; with hands and feet that tapped to the beat of a special drum – that of helping those who were sick and helpless. And so two very difficult days in the life and times of Anusha Chandrika Atukorala were turned into days filled with much blessing.

 

Have you discovered how much power there is in kindness?

 
I've also spent the last week being wrapped up beautifully in the love of community. My hard working husband is getting the laundry in as I type these words. He’s been extremely busy ensuring that our home fires are burning brightly and that I am well looked after. My son is chipping in often, doing his bit. My immediate family, my extended family, my close friends, my church friends, my facebook friends, my friends far and near have all rallied around me as I sailed forth to have my operation. Their wishes and concern warmed me. They have been calling me, emailing me, praying for me, praying with me, inquiring after me, and making me feel I am loved. I've appreciated the sense of community behind me during what could be a very tough time. That sense of community has transformed a difficult experience into something good and wholesome. It’s a season where I feel carried by the prayers of many.  

 

Have you discovered how much power there is in community?

 
Sleeping when in pain is not something easy to do. Agreed? The first night after my operation was a long one. It was packed with sleepless moments and remarkably painful ones. Nurses woke me every few hours to check my blood pressure and pulse. I was not allowed to sink blissfully into a deep sleep. My foot hurt like crazy. I felt very uncomfortable.
 
And so, on my second day in hospital, I put out my reading light by 9.30 p.m. hoping I’d have an easier night than the preceding one. But to begin with, it was so much worse. I can’t truthfully say that I tossed and turned because I was not allowed to toss and turn. I have strict doctor’s orders to stay put on my back with my foot up on a pillow 24/7 for the next two weeks. It is no easy task for me because I usually sleep on my side. And so that day, I just couldn’t fall sleep. The pain I experienced was overpowering. There was no way I could relax enough to fall asleep with the foot crying out in pain like a man being mauled by a vicious crocodile on the river Nile! (Perhaps I am exaggerating… just a wee bit!) There was no use seeking help in medication - two lots of painkillers had already been administered by a caring nurse.
 
I realised what I needed. I needed prayer. And I needed it quickly. I thought for a moment. It was then 10.30 p.m. Too late to bother anyone in Australia. But Sri Lanka was five hours behind. And so I sent a text message to a special someone in Sri Lanka who has faithfully upheld me in prayer from well before I went into hospital - my beloved  niece Ashi. Immediately she texted back. She told me that she’d just prayed for me. She also assured me she would keep praying. Which she did. What did I do then? I asked the nurse about more pain relief. Then I fell asleep. Just like that.
 
By the time the nurse came back with her answer, I was sound asleep. I slept from 10.45 p.m. till 5 a.m. I could have slept even longer if my bursting bladder didn’t pressurise me to request an urgent trip to the loo on a hospital wheelchair. I was truly amazed. More than 6 precious hours of sleep. Wonderful! I wrote to Ashi telling her that her prayers had great power. It was a big miracle. (Thanks GG. I am very grateful.)

 

Have you discovered the amazing power of prayer?
And so this past week I have re-discovered with great joy the unstoppable power of KINDNESS, the immense power of COMMUNITY and the immeasurable power of PRAYER.
 
Lord, make me kind;
Lord help me bless my community;
Lord, teach me to pray.
 

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20,21