What's True and what isn't?

21/07/2012 13:42
The other day, our son Asela urged us to join him in watching a DVD he had bought - ‘The Truman Show’. I’d never heard of it. I didn’t even like the sound of it! I imagined a TV program containing frivolous chatter; talk that would neither interest me nor hold my attention. So although I agreed to watching it, I did so with reluctance.
 
How wrong I was! I should have known that Asela always chooses books and films which are exceptionally good. Unusual ones. Interesting ones. As he did in this instance. From the start of the film I was riveted. The Truman show is based around the life and times of a man called Truman Burbank. Truman Burbank’s character was portrayed with grand finesse by Jim Carrey. In this movie, practically every single person is an actor.
 
All but Truman himself.
 
Before Truman was born, he’d been chosen to be the star in the show. A special island had been built for him where he would grow up. Even his own parents in the movie were not his true parents. Truman had been a son of a teenage pregnancy – given away at birth. A perfect victim then, for this kind of story. He had no one looking out for him. Millions of TV addicts were entertained as they watched his untrue life being portrayed 24 hours daily on the Truman Show.
 
The movie goes onto show us how Truman at around age 28 suddenly realises that something is amiss. He doesn’t know what it is. But feels that everyone else is in on some secret which he is not aware of. And he is right of course. Even his best friend can’t help him understand what’s going on, because he too is an actor. I felt sad as I watched it that Truman was being used in this way. There was nothing real in his life. Every memory he had was false because everything was contrived. It was all made into entertainment.
 
The story made a big impact on me. I wonder if the name ‘Truman’ was chosen deliberately. Truman – as in True Man? He was the only True man in the movie. All the others were actors. It made me think of our lives and how we figure out what truth is and what isn’t.
 
What is true in your life? What isn’t? How do you find out?
The devil often whispers many lies into our ears.
  1. There can’t be a God – or the world would not be in this mess!
  2. If God cared, this would not have happened to me.
  3. I am not as bad as she is.
  4. If I don’t look out for myself no one else will.
  5. It’s OK if I sin this once.
  6. I could never do it!
  7. There’s no point hoping. Nothing good ever happens to me!
  8. I am a loser; no doubt about it
  9. There’s no one I can trust in the whole wide world
  10. It’s silly to hope in a God I can’t even see!
 
Does any of it sound familiar? All of these lies rob us of life in all its fullness. Here are a few brief answers from the Word of God for what Satan would have us believe.
  1. There can’t be a God – or the world would not be in this mess!
“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His Hands.”
Psalm 19:1
 
  1. If God cared, surely He would help me?
"For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him" Psalm 103:11
 
  1. I am not as bad as she is.
All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23
 
  1. If I don’t look out for myself no one else will.
“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests but to the interests of others.” Philippians 2:4
 
  1. It’s OK if I sin this once.
“Make every effort to live in peace with all men and to be holy; for without holiness no one will see the Lord.” Hebrews 12:14
 
  1. I could never do it!
“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” Philippians 4:13
 
  1. There’s no point hoping. Nothing good ever happens to me!
“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him.”1 Corinthians 2:9
 
  1. I am a loser; no doubt about it
“I have come, that they may have life, and have it to the full”. John 10:10
 
  1. There’s no one I can trust in the whole wide world
God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ, is faithful”.
1 Corinthians 1:9
 
  1. It’s silly to hope in a God I can’t even see!
“Then Jesus told him ‘Because you have seen me you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:29
 
Truman was the one True Man in his little world. I know a Man who is True in our big, real world. His name is Jesus. He speaks to me through the Bible. He shows me what life is all about. He leads me in amazing ways. By the guidance of His Holy Spirit, He clears my mind of all the cobwebs of deceit, that lurk there, till I see TRUTH shining in all its splendour.
 
Till I realise with amazement what life is all about.
Would you like to find truth? Truth, I believe is a Person. His name is Jesus!
Try Him! He will never fail!
 
PS YES, Truman Burbank’s story had a happy ending. I love happy endings!
 
PPS And YES, your story and mine will have a good ending – no, a great one; as we yield ourselves to God, living lives that please and honour Him; through the grace, wisdom and strength He provides.