When the wind blows

09/09/2012 15:14

I sit on my garden swing, breathing in an enchanting spring day. Azure blue skies smile at me. Soft cotton clouds wave gaily as they saunter by. The lush creeper by our back fence is ablaze with delicate yellow flowers; little blobs of sunshine dancing in the wind. A variety of spring flowers seem to have suddenly popped up all over my garden, splashing it with a myriad colours – reds, pinks, whites, purples – what a gorgeous profusion. I gaze around me, deeply content.
 
Glad mad breezes make the foliage dance vigorously, joyous and playful. The wind tugs at my hair and blows soft breath on my face; a baby’s sweet breath. My shirt sleeves join in the dance as winds make music – melodious sounds like a flute playing clear notes - the song of spring. It’s a day for the outdoors. A day made in heaven. A day to rejoice.
 
As I sat on my garden swing on that gorgeous spring morning last Tuesday, enjoying happy conversation with my Father God, I couldn’t help but marvel at the difference the winds made. Have you ever wondered what life would be like without the winds that blow? I’ve often realised that the beauty of nature is highlighted by the breezes that dance and play in our world.
 
Here’s a little exercise to engage in for a couple of moments. Imagine in your mind’s eye, a garden that is still. No breeze. Very quiet. No movement whatsoever. Can you perceive it? Now picture the same garden. But this time with a busy wind racing through it, its trees and foliage dancing madly in the wind. Can you see it? Is it alive?
 
Which of the two gardens seems more attractive to you? The one that is still or the one that dances? I’ve always loved the feel of soft playful breezes as they tug at me. When I was young, I’d often grab a window seat in a bus– allowing the winds to blow on my face as the bus moved. I loved it. When I was a teenager, I remember telling one of my friends ‘I wonder what it feels like to be a wind’! She looked very surprised! She thought I’d lost a marble or two that day!
 
I love the feel of cool breezes against my skin on a hot summer’s day. I relish the cold fresh winds of autumn as they play around me. The winds of winter are a little different – a little too cold and quickly cause goose bumps to form on my arms – but yes, I do enjoy even the biting cold winter winds when they arrive.
 
Breezes make plants move. Breezes seem to add life to greenery. Breezes make my garden come alive. After all – plants are living things and living things should move, right? Thank God for the winds that race around waking up the sleeping branches, bushes and leaves and cause them to move vigorously to its tune. Breezes add life!
 
Jesus said in John chapter 3:8 ‘The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit." What did He mean? Perhaps what He meant is that the Holy Spirit is like the wind in lots of ways. Just like the wind, the Holy Spirit is invisible. Just like the wind, we don’t know the origins of the Holy Spirit. Just like the wind, the Holy Spirit's ways are often unfathomable!

 

The story of Pentecost is shared with us in the book of Acts. Acts 2:2 says “Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they were sitting.”  It tells us how the gift of the Holy Spirit was then given to the believers. A group of fearful, timid men turned into bold, fearless men who turned the world upside down because the Holy Spirit took residence inside of them.
 
Just as I’m glad that winds make trees move and dance, I am even more glad that the Holy Spirit resides inside each person who calls himself or herself a follower of Jesus. Isn’t it amazing that God lives inside each of us? That our bodies are temples of the living God?

 

Fifteen years ago, when my family left Sri Lanka’s shores, God gave me a promise from Deuteronomy 31:8. This is what it said. “The Lord Himself goes before you and will be with you. He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not fear; do not be discouraged.”  It seemed then that God was telling me that life will bring some hard times. But He also told me not to fear. Why? Because He promised to be with us through it all.
 
Now – as I look back on the past 15 years, I can joyfully testify to its truth. He has been faithful.Yes, we did have some very tough times. Yes, life has certainly brought us a few surprises. Yes, life has not always been easy. But YES, God’s presence has kept us; led us and been a precious gift to us just as He promised.
 
How grateful I am to God for His presence in my life!
 
The Holy Spirit is called by many names. Comforter. Helper. Counsellor. Guide. These are but a few of them. How blessed we are that we are not left alone. Not only does God bring us to new life through Jesus – He also puts His seal into our lives when the Holy Spirit comes to dwell inside of us. He brings comfort. Help. Wise counsel. Guidance.
 
Without the winds that blow, my garden would not have ‘life’. Without the Holy Spirit, I would be powerless to live life God’s way. All religions teach us excellent morals and good values. The difference in following Jesus is that we have God Himself living within to help us to lives that please Him. He helps us face difficult seasons. He helps us dance in the rain!
 
Not that I am perfect. Far from it. I am still learning, still growing. But He is with me, helping me each step of the way. He helps me achieve the impossible through His love and His strength. He gives me power to do that which I cannot do on my own. He is present. In fact, His presence is the best gift of all!.
 
Have you enjoyed the presence of God in your life?

 

Would you like to share what His presence has meant to you? I'm listening.
Would you like to know how you could find His Presence? I'd be only too glad to share with you.